Showing my parents the world's highest curved suspension bridge supported by one beam.
Taking my parents across the world’s highest curved suspension bridge supported by one beam. Look it up. It’s in Langkawi, Malaysia.
Here's the bridge. Very curvy.
Here’s the bridge. Nice curves.

Unemployment has its perks. A lot of them actually. If you can adapt to the constant mooching (no problems for me), receiving financial assistance from your wife (check) and develop quick, witty responses to the daily – “how’s the job search going?” (none of your f&!*n business), then you’re all set.

For the past two months, my unemployedness has allowed me to play host to both sets of our parents. I know that doesn’t sound like everyone’s cup of tea, but when the only daily human interaction you have is with high school kids, you welcome any and all company. And, as an added bonus, our parents are also very nice people who are happy to pay for stuff. They’re welcome anytime.

It’s actually pretty ironic that by moving to the other side of the world we’ll be spending more time with our parents than we did when we lived 10kms door-to-door. That’s hard to remember when you’re saying goodbye at the airport, but when you sit back and do the math, it’s not even close.

You also get to know people (especially your parents) on a different level when you spend a month together. Witnessing things like your dad getting up at 4 a.m. every morning to do pushups and situps in your living room or your father-in-law shaving on your couch are priceless moments.

It’s also fun to see your family step out of their comfort zone and experience so many new things all at once – food, heat, culture, smells, traffic, smells, people, monkeys with constant boners, smells…and the list goes on. It’s bonding on a whole new level, and it’s honestly one of my favourite things about living overseas – sharing the experience with others.

So, while being an unemployed travel guide doesn’t pay well, it certainly is rewarding and pushes me to keep exploring my new home too.

That’s why when we invited all of our family, friends, co-workers and strangers to visit us before we left, we meant it. We know the plane ride is long, but once you get here, we promise you a true travel experience that you’ll never get at a Mexican all-inclusive.

If you’re still not convinced about my tour guide credentials, just ask my mom how her Malaysia trip went. I promised no hospital visits this time, and I delivered.

Okay, the pitch is over. Time to get back to Netflix…I mean my job search.

Here are a few more pics from my parent’s visit. Later.

Shaun

