I went for a round of golf at the local course the other day and stumbled across this interesting driving range into the swamp. Please notice the brave man collecting balls in the boat - luckily he's wearing a face mask and a Kevlar vest.
I went for a round of golf at the local course the other day and stumbled across this interesting driving range into a swamp.  Apparently the range balls float. Please notice the brave man collecting balls in the boat – luckily he’s wearing a face mask and a Kevlar vest. I think these folks are aiming at him.

One of the best things about moving to a new country is discovering all the ‘unique’ nuances that seem to be around every corner. Whether it’s signage on the road, hockey rinks in mall basements or braille on walking paths, there’s never a dull moment in the first few months of living somewhere new.

And because we all carry a phone in our pocket now, here are a few pics of things that have made me laugh so far…

Product names don't usually translate well. But, I think cock brand fire starter is perfect...especially since it's 'all new.'
Product names don’t usually translate well. But, I think cock brand fire starter is perfect…especially with the ‘new’ packing. That’ll get er’ blazing!

 

This was taken in the bathroom of KL's famous Suzie's Corner restaurant, which is famous for $10 sirloin steaks. Apparently some folks feel the need to bring up their steak in the can right after they eat it. Maybe to make room for another one? Anyway, Suzie sets everyone straight with this note.
This was taken in the bathroom of KL’s famous Suzie’s Corner restaurant, which is best known for $10 sirloin steaks (quite tasty). Apparently some folks feel the need to barf up their steak right after they eat it. Maybe to make room for another one? Anyway, Suzie sets everyone straight with this note. As a writer, I suggested she change the ‘from’ to ‘love.’ That’s just me.
This is my new barbershop. I love a good hair cu... What does that door say? Yikes. While it's not as cheap as going to my mom, it's only $3 for a "cut" and head massage.
This is my new barbershop. I love a good hair cu… What does that door say?
Yikes. While it’s not as cheap as going to my mom, it’s only $3 for a “cut” and head massage.

Shaun

