I'm not sure what's more incredible - a teaching staff this size or the fact that our school owns a drone which took this picture! Bonus points if you can find me in the crowd.
I’m not sure what’s more incredible – a teaching staff this size or the fact that our school owns a drone which took this picture! Bonus points if you can find me in the crowd.

Whether  a student or a teacher, the first days of a new school year bring a mix of excitement and anxiety. Will I fit in? Will I remember my locker com? Will I get lost in the halls? Will the kids make fun of my last name and the fact that I’m from Regina – again?

The first days of school are filled with possibility. This is the year I will be uber organized, the students will learn more than ever before and I will strike the perfect work-life balance.

With two weeks of teaching in,  I am reminded of why I got into teaching in the first place.

Here are some of the best things about being a teacher.

    • You never really have to grow up. My sense of humour and I have been stuck in middle school for the past 12 years.
    • You are learning something new everyday. For example, just a couple of days ago a student taught me what a “dank meme” is. I’ve also learned how to do the newest dance moves including the whip it, the nae nae and the stanky leg – not to be confused with the skanky leg ( I had to correct a colleague on the that one!)
    • Participation in a giant dodge ball game is considered professional development.
    • You get to (have to) be creative. Gone are the days of copying notes and answering questions in a textbook and I love the challenge of making lessons fun.
    • That moment when a student says “Oh – now I get it!”
    • And the summer vacation is not too shabby either.

In case some of you want to practice some dance moves, this apparently is what the kids are into these days.

Trina

