When you're unemployed, you have time to stay up late on a Sunday night and take pictures of the fireworks out your bedroom window.
When you’re unemployed, you have time to stay up late on a Sunday night and take pictures of the fireworks out your bedroom window. Our view is pretty good, so be prepared to get really sick of pictures of downtown Kuala Lumpur over the next few months.

For the first time in 15 years, I’m officially unemployed, or in between jobs, or a freeloader or a loser. Pick whatever term you want, but I have a lot of time on my hands at the moment. But, don’t worry. I’m alright. Food here is cheap, we have a pool and Trina leaves me a fresh ‘to do’ list every morning before she leaves for school. Here are a few other things I’ve been doing to pass the time (in between my exhaustive search for a job…of course).

Delicious Nips.
Delicious Nips.
  • Enjoy local snacks – I always like to check out the names and tastes of the junk food wherever I travel – even if it’s just to Minot, North Dakota. In Malaysia, you can get all the chocolates and chips from home, but they also have some new treats, like Nips. Think M&Ms with much more hilarious name.

 

Ice cream is just better out of a coconut.
Ice cream is just better out of a coconut.
  • Eat ice cream out of coconut shells with buds – This is me and our first house guest Mark, who actually arrived from the U.K. on our first night in our apartment. Great timing. I was the best man at his wedding in Sri Lanka a few years back, so we’re used to sweating in strange places together. Sorry, that sounds weird. I highly recommend this ice cream though.
  • Visit the jungle, a local market or IKEA – Sometimes a jungle, a market or IKEA can feel the same. So far, they’ve all been quite enjoyable, except IKEA on a Sunday. Don’t go to IKEA on a Sunday in KL.

That’s it for now. We get our car on Thursday, so there will be plenty more unemployed adventures after that. Stay tuned and take care. Oh yeah, and my first hockey game is tonight!

Shaun

