I've loved the chance to teach at such a wonderful school with children from over 40 different countries. I'm going to miss this place!
I’ve loved the chance to teach at such a wonderful school with children from over 40 different countries. I’m going to miss this place!

When you’ve been living in a country as amazingly vibrant as this one for over two years, the final days before your departure are filled with emotions. It’s so hard to know how to spend your last weeks living and working here and just impossible to get everything in – let alone document it in an amazing blog entry. But I will try to capture the last couple of weeks events in a few words and photos and hopefully you’ll get the idea.

So here is a list of the things I’ve been doing complete with photos.

. I’ve also written and performed a farewell rap for the staff to the tune of Will Smith’s “Fresh Prince of Bel-Air“. While it pales in comparison to Jo Coomb’s rendition of “My Favourite Things“, I’d like to think it is a close second.

Now this is a story all about how

My life got flipped, turned upside down

And I’d like to take a minute to say thank ya

‘Cause I’ve loved being a sudu noona   in Sri Lanka.

In Regina, Saskatchewan born and raised

Teaching in schools is where I spent most of my days

Chilling out, maxing, relaxing all cool

And standardizing assessments inside the school

When it dawned on me life was getting lazy

It was time to do something wild and crazy

Put in one little form and were told we could go

To a mental hospital just outside Colombo.

Time went by; more than two years in a flurry,

I’ve sweat, I’ve learned and I’ve been stuffed full of curry

If anything I could say life here has been surreal

Like a psychedelic dream it sometimes does feel.

Thank goodness for the friends and help I’ve had

The Sri Lankan people have been really rad

Time to move back to the land of ice and snow

Please stay in touch, I’ll miss you – AIYO*!

  • * sudu noona – white woman
  • *Aiyo! – an expression which essentially means an exclamatory “Oh dear!”
