This Sinhalese folk tale translated in English really caught my attention at the store today. After reading it, many things in Sri Lanka make more sense.

With only three weeks until my departure from Sri Lanka, I thought I’d do some general people watching in my favourite Colombo spots and detour into some shops for  air conditioned reprieve from the heat. In my shopping ventures, I stumbled upon a fantastic series of Sinhalese Folk Tales translated into English. This one in particular made me laugh out loud. I love that the stories we tell our children from generation to generation can explain so much about a culture.  So just before I go to bed tonight after a wonderful day of people watching, gift shopping, live theatre and a great dinner with wonderful company, I’m sharing this story with all of you.

Click on the pictures below to read the whole story.

Hope you enjoy.

Trina

