This is a very talented young Sri Lankan band that plays some great Stevie Wonder covers. Some of the strange compliments were given to me whilst cutting rug to their tunes.
This is a very talented young Sri Lankan band that plays some great Stevie Wonder covers. Some of the strange compliments were given to me whilst cutting rug to their tunes.

Here they are –  some word for word compliments (I think), that I’ve received here in the last month or so.

“We will be sorry to see you go. You are someone we don’t mind working with too much.” –  a colleague

“You are not as fat as you were last year.” – lady at the gym

“Are you going out again tonight? You really don’t worry much about your household do you?” – landlord’s family

“Are you Sri Lankan? (pause for my response) Ah, I sensed there was something exotic about you.” (my white skin maybe???) – random jogger

“You are very humble like all foreign women. I like that.” – guy who talked to me for all of 30 seconds

“You truly do sweat a lot. That’s awesome!” – a friend cycling behind me in a fitness class, who has now conceded that I sweat more than she does

“Your curries are good.  .  . (look of apprehension) This one is just missing some salt, that one needs more sugar and your pol sambol needs more chili and lime. The carrots are perfect.” – Sri Lankan Aunty (BTW, the carrots were simply boiled with margarine added. I’m glad I didn’t mess those up).

“You’re 32? No way! I thought you couldn’t be older than 31.” – student

Enjoy the sunshine Saskatchewan! I’m actually enjoying the three days of rain here in Sri Lanka as it is cooling things down. It’s just not cool that my roof is leaking and during last night’s rain storm, I woke up to water dripping on my head. Oh well, rain or sweat, what’s the difference?

Trina

