While Shaun may be doing his crazy farewell tour, I’m still trying to maintain my sanity. The weather is getting hotter, interim report cards are just around the corner, a secondary production is underway, and I’m still here until June. I must say that it is strange having Shaun leave before me. I feel strange going to one farewell rice and curry after another when I’m not leaving yet.

I don’t want to think too much about going home because there is still a lot yet to come for me here, and there is a lot of uncertainty about what I will do when I get back to Saskatchewan. Luckily the snow should be gone by the time I arrive in early July, so the dreaded cold won’t be a deterrent. However, unlike Shaun, I do not have a job to go back to yet and that is a strange feeling. It is still early in the job hunt so I’m trying to live in the present as much as possible.

While Shaun has been incredibly busy with the VSO Mental Health final conference and trying to get every Sri Lankan experience in one last time, the following are some things I’ve been up to.

  • trying to find Schwepp’s tonic. It seems that since the import taxes went up yet again, the grocery stores are no longer carrying this luxury item of mine.
  • giving students lessons about “how to budget”. Is that ironic or what?
  • watching so many TED talks that I think I may be addicted
  • scouring the city for costume and prop items for the secondary drama production
  • avoiding creeps
  • going to the gym to try to burn off all the extra rice and curry
  • wondering if my students could beat the Guinness World Record for fastest assembly of a paper clip chain
  • mentally preparing to be a super chaperone on the girls’ soccer team trip to Chennai
  • performing a Bollywood dance number at the school’s version of the Oscars. Yes, I for some reason though it would be a good idea for a bunch of teachers to get up and dance in front of the high school students. We only had one practice but had a ton of fun and laughs. My co-workers will kill me for publishing this, especially since I happen to be off camera most of the time:)

Generally, I want to make the most out of the next few months and not let the goodbyes get me down. I may not want to admit it, but I will miss having Shaun here. Somehow everything is much funnier when you can sit down with your best bud and vent over a gin and tonic (even if it’s not Schwepp’s).

Trina

