Hiking in Sri Lanka may not be as strenuous or as high as Nepal, but it still is beautiful.
Hiking in Sri Lanka may not be as strenuous or as high as Nepal, but it still is beautiful.

The farewell tour continued this past weekend as we took the train to Kandy and made our way up into the Knuckles mountain range just north of the city.

The trip had two purposes:

  1. To hike and relax in the cooler climate of the Knuckles hills and tea estates – a place we had heard a lot about, but had never visited.
  2. To try and shakedown Margaret the Woodcarver one last time and finally get our wall hanging.

It was certainly successful on the first front as we stayed at a very nice, remote place called Rangala House complete with gourmet food and a swimming pool. Good times.

Sadly, the second objective was not met as Margaret was taking the day off from carving when we stopped by her shop. However, we did leave our name and number for the manager, so the rope is continuing to tighten and we will claim what is rightfully ours – even if it’s two years later. Sleep with one eye open Margaret!

With less than a month left until I head back to Canada for good, my emotions are very mixed – I think they can be best summed as anxious.

There is so much left to do in my job here in Sri Lanka – most of which will never get done. And, my old job in the corporate world awaits on March 11, yikes. I think the fetal position sounds good right about now.

Whatever happens, I’ll make the best of it. Sri Lanka has taught me how to do that.

Here are some photos:

