A reenactment of what was done to the hospital’s media unit today with me inside it and the windows wide open. Aiyo.

With the clouds and smell of mosquito insecticide still hanging in my office (mixed with the tropical ripeness of a regularly visiting patient), my thoughts are floating back home in a chemical fog-induced high.

While I’m glad to have the protection from a dengue fever bite and I always appreciate good (and smelly) company, the smells of Sri Lanka can sometimes make a guy (home) sick.

I was actually talking to another volunteer the other day and she asked me what I miss the most about home. Of course family and friends are on the top of the list, but surprisingly the smells immediately jumped to mind.

The smell of a pie (or anything) cooking in the oven, the smell of the Lakeview Par 3 clubhouse, the smell of a Rider game, even the smell of Wascana Lake in the summer or a hockey rink in the winter – you just can’t duplicate those smells.

But, it’s really not the physical smell that I miss. What I actually miss is the feeling I get from the smell – combined with the people I’m usually with when I smell it.

(Sorry for writing smell so many times. Perhaps I’m subconsciously going for some sort of smell record? Smell.)

Besides the smells (sorry, again), everything is just fine in Sri Lanka. My heat rage (and rash) from a few weeks ago has calmed significantly, Trina is currently sitting in the audience of Sri Lanka’s Who Wants to be a Millionaire TV show as I type this (blog to follow shortly) and we’re off to the beach in Trinco this weekend to get certified in scuba diving. Life is good and strange, just the way I like it.

To top it all off we leave for our visit home in less than two weeks and the timing is perfect. I really need to take a deep breath – and home is the perfect place for that.

P.S. If you’re up for the smell of some steak or just to hang out one night in Regina, our great friends Scott and Shay are hosting a steak night to support our CUSO fundraising efforts on July 7 (Happy birthday Pix – I’ll get your steak, bud). Check out all the details on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/events/370760119658103/

Later.

Shaun

