A sunset at Mirissa Beach is worth the 4-hour bus ride from Colombo.

In any given day I have thousands of random thoughts and questions that come into my brain. Most of them are triggered by living in a foreign land surrounded by the noise of a strange sounding language and the smell of B.O. wafting through the air – and the rest are a result of some sort of brain damage sustained earlier in life.

At any rate, here are a few things on my mind recently:

  • I will be missing my first full Canadian winter in 33 years and I’m not the least bit sad. Suck it -30. But, I will miss you hockey.
  • Thinking of hockey, I recently saw a Russian tourist in a speedo watching a Redwings game on his laptop on the beach. I was jealous of him watching hockey and of his nut hugging speedo.
  • The monsoon that was supposed to arrive in May seems to have finally arrived in late October as it has been raining every afternoon for a week. Actually, I think this is called inter-monsoonal. The Sri Lankan weather seems to take its time just like its people. Fitting.
  • I found a basketball team to play on for the winter. It’s a pickup game at Trina’s school and the star player is named Dennis, a 64-year-old, water technician from Colorado with skin the colour of ash and oatmeal. I’m pretty sure he played in the ABA and was a Knights of Columbus free throw champion in 1948. Also on the team are people named Sumari, Mahesh, Ranjith and Peter.
  • The budders are still pissing me off. I almost shoved a guy today at the store. Back of the bus, Mahesh!
  • I’m presently cool with the starers.
  • Do you ever have the dream where you have something to do, like get to work or write a test, but are constantly interrupted and can never get to the thing you need to do? That’s what everyday feels like working here. Eventually you just start enjoying the interruptions and looking for something meaningful to do in them.
  • I think the Riders might as well start Berquist for their last two games. Either him or Willie Cole.
  • If you like good TV, watch episodes of The Wire, The Sopranos, Breaking Bad and/or Six Feet Under. You won’t be disappointed.
  • Today was the first day I didn’t sweat through my shirt by the time I got to the gym. I love the monsoon – that is until I need to fashion a raft out of my kitchen table and row my way to the hospital.

Peace out and enjoy your week.

Shaun

