Watch your step. Tumbling down this drop at World's End would not end well. Great view.

The end of last week found me traveling to Nuwara Eliya to conduct media awareness training to a group of community and mental health workers at the local hospital. It couldn’t have come at a better time, as I’ve been in Colombo for almost two months straight with no escape.

Nuwara Eliya is the highest city in Sri Lanka and also has the coldest climate. Average temps are in the low 20s and it dips down to low teens at night. Some call it cold. I call it heaven – at least for a few days anyway. It’s about 200 kms from Colombo and takes 7 hours to reach by bus! Unbelievable.

I stayed with an awesome Canadian VSO volunteer couple – Bill and Wendy – who treated me like gold. They picked me up at 1 a.m. from the bus depot, had a meal and a beer waiting for me and then proceeded to feed and entertain me for three straight days. I don’t think I could be a better host even if I was paid to do it. I recommend you look them up if you’re in the neighbourhood.

On Saturday, I traveled 50 kms (or 2.5 hours) down the road to Kandy to attend a birthday party for a VSO volunteer. Once again the hospitality and the food were outstanding. Here are some pictures of my last few days…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

…now I’m back in Colombo and can’t wait until I can leave again. Trina and my mom and Rob arrive next week, so more escapes are planned. Peace out.

Shaun

