My buds and I at the Grey Cup.

During the 1998 Winter Olympics in Nagano, Japan, my dad (Rob) changed around his entire schedule to operate on Nagano time. He slept during the day (mostly at work – he’s retired now, so I can divulge that secret) and didn’t hit his stride until about 2 a.m. when most of the Team Canada hockey games started. Just in time for his lunch.

It was a masterful thing to watch. A true Japanese chameleon living in Saskatchewan. He even started wearing those sumo wrestling diapers and eating with chopsticks.

While almost everyone else was just staying up way too late and only getting a couple hours of sleep, Rob didn’t miss a beat.

With Rider season upon us, I’m hoping that ability to reverse the day and night runs in the family. You see I’ve mapped out the Rider season and there’s a lot of 1:30 a.m. starts, or even worse, the home opener 4:30 a.m. Monday morning start time. Yuck.

I think my plan will be for the 2:30 a.m. starts and later, to just go to bed early and hopefully spring out of bed a few minutes from kickoff. For the earlier starts, I’ll tough it out with a bottle(s) of Coke and the sweet lyrical stylings of Eric Carmen. Then either way I’ll be a winner.

And for those of you thinking, why not just PVR it? Well, I wish I could, but I’d need a TV first.

Even if I pull off a successful Nagano Rob, this Rider season is not going to be the same. It sounds stupid, but one of the toughest things about being away is not getting to watch Rider games with family and friends. It’s going to suck not being in the stands or at the parties before/after the game.

Ah well, I’ll try to get my 77-year-old landlord into the game and call it a day.

Go Riders.
Shaun

