Here's the main building of the National Institute of Mental Health in Sri Lanka. Not bad curb appeal for an Insane Asylum - as it was originally called.

I’ve been in my job at the hospital for close to two months now, and I’d like to give you a peek at what it looks like. It’s not the easiest place to work (especially when your used to ergonomic chairs, central air conditioning, high-tech ventilation systems and toilet paper), but it’s not the worst either.

For example, I haven’t been bitten by a snake – not even once.

All kidding aside, the place is clean, safe and really all I need to do my job – as long as I remember to bring in my own T.P., food, water, internet connection, phone, computer, camera, pens and paper. Two things about that list: yes, my backpack is f’n heavy, and yes, we take a lot for granted about modern day workplaces.

If you work at a place with a Facilities department, give them a hug and never again complain about the filtered, oxygenated, and chilled water tasting a little off.

Just in case you start feeling sorry for me, I’ve also attached a couple pics of Water’s Edge – the beautiful gym/pool we have a membership at (Our one splurge item here that was way outside of our budget). This place is amazing. Going from the hospital to Water’s Edge everyday is like visiting two completely alien planets – and all that stands between them is a 20-minute bus ride. As you can see, it’s a great way to finish the day, including a hot shower, steam and shave.

Shaun

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

