My favourite part of travel is by far all the people you meet. I especially love interacting with the children. They are so full of life as they are seeing many things for the first time. They are also uninhibited so they will walk up to me and say exactly what is on their mind. Such as:

“White woman you have a bit head.”

“Why don’t you comb your hair?”

“Why don’t you give me money? You are rich!”

I could spend hours just hanging out with them and playing games. On the beach in Kokrobite, I did just that. A group of children approached me and we played “hairdresser” with each other, then duck, duck, goose (they say da, da, goo just like the kids in Sierra Leone) and simon says. Then they taught me some songs and dances. They tried (to no avail) to teach me some of their language too. Kids make the best teachers of language as they are so patient and only laugh at my mistakes.

The best was when I showed they how to take photographs with my camera. They were running around shouting “I snap that!”, taking pictures of absolutely everything and then running back to show me their work. By the end of this impromptu photography lesson, the kids were able to properly frame the photos they were taking and they were so proud of their improvements.

As I left for the day, we shared congratulatory hugs, high fives and fist bumps.

Travel for me is not about going and seeing as many places as possible. I consume enough and go nonstop it seems in my everyday life back home. What makes travel special (and life for that matter) are those spontaneous moments where we can connect with each other and share a part of ourselves.

In Ghana they have an expression, “small, small” meaning that we must take life one step and a time. I hope everyday I remember to do just that.

