Okay, I’m officially sweating now! I have to carry a sweat rag with me everywhere I go, but I’m certainly now complaining seeing as I left -30 degree temperatures behind.

I’m pleased to have learned about our new found fame (the cover of the Leaderpost). My recently acquired Ghanaian friends are now convinced they are hanging out with a celebrity. I’m just not very pleased about the blown up picture of Shaun and I that is on the online article. Ladies – never trust your husband to pick the picture to submit!!

Anyway, I have been in Ghana for a little over a week and here are some of my thoughts.

The first thing you can’t help but notice in Ghana is how friendly all the people are. They truly want you to have a good impression of their culture. They are never too busy to stop and chat with you and are eager to learn all about where I am from.

As a white woman (with an African booty) I get a whole other level of attention. It is very flattering to be stopped on the street countless times in the day to be told how beautiful you are. On last count I have had dozens of professions of love, 17 marriage proposals, and 2 offers to help me “produce children”.

I’ve been very lucky to have made some local friends that have literally made it their duty that I am looked after. They have been showing me the ins and outs of Accra and surrounding area.

The following are the highlights of my stay in this area.
– enjoying freshly caught snapper prepared on a fire on the beach
– celebrating Bob Marley’s birthday at a reggae festival on Labardi beach
– having ground nut soup and rice balls (my fav. West African meal) prepared by Cecilia, a kind-hearted African woman, in her village
-playing with the local children in James Town
– having fascinating conversations with locals including one very politically charged one with a Rasta man (I love to hear other perspectives and this conversation in particular made me wonder more about the oppression of the African perspective by the western media.)

Final thought: (like Jerry Springer’s but better)
When we hear about Africa in the news, we hear about poverty, famine, disease and war. While we cannot deny the existence of such things this is a single story (I’ve included a link to a phenomenal TED talk on this topic). This is not the Africa I see in Ghana. I see a nation with all the modern ammenities, strong families, and people who take pride in their culture.

Oh and I have won the first battle with the evil travellers’ diarrhea even though it was sketchy for a couple days.
Score Updates:
Trina – 1
Evil Travellers’ Diarrhea – 0

