Well, 2011 is here (happy new year) and our preparations for taking off are going into the next gear. For those of you who don’t know, Trina and I are about to embark on an 18-month volunteer placement in Colombo, Sri Lanka. On March 2, I start my job as a media relations strategist working in the mental health area. My role is part of a bigger program in the country to reduce the current stigma associated with mental illness and to ultimately improve the lives of Sri Lankans living with mental illness in the country. No big deal, all in a day’s work – yikes. To see what volunteer organization we’re going with, check out the CUSO-VSO website or our fundraising page.

Trina is going into the placement as a free agent, so besides learning to surf and make curry, she will be looking for ways to use her extensive education and volunteer experience. Knowing her, she’ll be busier than I am after the second day and will likely have 13 jobs. Oh yeah, and she’s going to Ghana first (leaves on January 31) and she’s meeting me in Sri Lanka at the beginning of March. Not sure me travelling by myself is a great idea, but I’m up for the test.

Besides trying to learn as much as possible about a country I know nothing about, most of my time right now is being spent on the logistics of putting my life on hold in Regina. Renting out our place, packing stuff up and ditching at our parents/sisters and making sure we cancel everything we need to, is almost a full-time job (and I’m still working at my full-time job until the end of February). I think everything is under control, but I really have no idea. All I really know is that I have no idea what I’m getting into (and it feels pretty good, mixed with a bit of scary).

Not much else to report now, take it easy and feel free ask anything you’d like to know about our journey. Later.

Shaun

Here's a glimpse into our lives right now - messy and chaotic.

